AUDIO: Tony Catania – “Songs Ad Libitum / Three Pieces for Electro​-​Acoustic Duo / Portal”

Experimental artist Tony Catania’s latest album consists of compositions birthed from creative euphoria. The first eleven tracks encompass “Songs Ad Libitum” while tracks 12-14 are “Three Pieces for Electro-Acoustic Duo” performed with Nicholas Elert, and the final track “Portal” features Jay Mollerskov. Everything on “Songs” is improvised; Catania uses tenor saxophone and found objects to explore sonic spaces. “Three Pieces” keeps Catania plays saxophone but with the added textures of Elert’s baritone guitar and sampler, building larger compositions. “Portal” concludes everything with saxophone against Mollerskov’s radiant electronics. The scattering of spontaneous ideas laden with care is so delicately executed with Tony Catania’s new album, meditative as it is exquisite.

Share this post:

Leave a Reply