RECAP: 2017 WAMI Awards

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On Sunday night, Turner Hall Ballroom played host to the 37th annual Wisconsin Area Music Industry (WAMI) Awards, and hundreds of local artists from throughout the state filled the room. Over 40 awards were given out throughout the night, and the show also featured performances from Scott E. Berendt and the Us Project, Bella Cain, NO/NO, Green Screen Kid, The Pukes, and the Prince Experience. There was also a stellar tribute to the late Al Jarreau and former James Brown drummer Clyde Stubblefield (both had a great influence on Wisconsin music), as well as a performance from the This Time Tomorrow All Star Band, a creation of the This Time Tomorrow Foundation. The show also included WAMI Hall of Fame inductions for Eric Benet, Bryan Lee, and Milwaukee blues pioneers Short Stuff.

Milwaukee musicians took top honors, as Vinyl Theatre won Artist of the Year, Dead Horses’ “Cartoon Moon” took the WAMI for Album of the Year, and Devil Met Contention’s “Fire took home Song of the Year. IshDARR, GGOOLLDD, Brett Newski, The Pukes, and Devil Met Contention were also among the notable WAMI recipients. You can view a full list of winners below:

2017 WAMI Award Winners

Artist of the Year – Vinyl Theatre
Album of the Year – Dead Horses – “Cartoon Moon”
Song of the Year – Devil Met Contention – “Fire”
Female Vocalist of the Year – Sarah Vos
Male Vocalist of the Year – Travis Schinke & Erik Kjelland (tie)
New Artist of the Year – J-Council
Singer/Songwriter of the Year – Brett Newski
Rising Star of the Year – Eminence
Alternative Rock / Rock Artist of the Year – Kyle Megna & The Monsoons
Bluegrass / Americana Artist of the Year – Dead Horses
Blues Artist of the Year – Big N Tasty Blues
Christian Artist of the Year – Night Divine
Country Artist of the Year – Driveway Thriftdwellers
Cover Artist of the Year – Almighty Vinyl
Club DJ / Dance / Electronic Artist of the Year – Melvv
Folk / Celtic Artist of the Year – Sugar Ransom
Hard Rock Artist of the Year – Imperial Fall
Horn/Big Band Artist of the Year – Cold Sweat & The Brew City Horns
Metal Artist of the Year – Conniption
Punk Artist of the Year – The Pukes
Jazz Artist of the Year – The Jazz Orgy
Polka Artist of the Year – The Squeezettes
Pop / Rock Artist of the Year – GGOOLLDD
Hip Hop / Rap Artist of the Year – IshDARR
R&B / Soul Artist of the Year – Tweed Funk
World / Reggae / Ska / Latin Artist of the Year – King Solomon
Tribute Band of the Year – The Prince Experience
Bassist of the Year – Jeff Hammes
Drummer of the Year – Mike Underwood
Guitarist of the Year – Bill Heck
Keyboardist of the Year – Aaron Zinsmeister
Reeds / Brass Musician of the Year – Michelle Jerabek
Strings Artist of the Year – Thea MortonVorass
Best Studio Engineer / Producer – Geoff Wilbourn
Best Recording Studio – Rock Garden
Best Live Club / Venue – The Saloon on Calhoun
Best Live Engineer Sound / Lights – Jeremy Boerson
People’s Choice Band – Southwest – Pat Watters Band
People’s Choice Band – Northwest – Spicy Tie Band
People’s Choice Band – Southeast – The Playlist
People’s Choice Band – Northeast – Hyde
Southeast Teacher of the Year – Derek Machan
Southeast Radio Station of the Year – 102.9 The Hog
Southeast Music Venue of the Year – The Saloon on Calhoun
Southeast Music Fan of the Year – Cindee May
Northeast Teacher of the Year – Mark Budwit
Northeast Radio Station of the Year – WAPL-FM 105.7
Northeast Music Venue of the Year – Rocky & Tara’s Nut Haus
Northeast Music Fan of the Year – Chris & Anita Holloman
Southwest Teacher of the Year – Kathy Wacker
Southwest Radio Station of the Year – WCOW-FM 97.1
Southwest Music Venue of the Year – Fawn Creek Winery
Southwest Music Fan of the Year – Mark Bruenig
Northwest Teacher of the Year – Brad Burrell
Northwest Radio Station of the Year – WIEC LP 102.7 FM
Northwest Music Venue of the Year – Live on Main
Northwest Music Fan of the Year – Penny Perot

Share this post:

Leave a Reply